6 Months in Business: Six Things I Have Learned!

2015-09-27 21.23.35This day 6 months ago, I opened the doors of The Kells Experience Tours in Market Street and it has been a fantastic learning experience.

I’ve have jotted down a few of the things I have learned in these six months.

 

 

  1. Think long term while focusing on day-to-day tasks.

To get from here to “there” – you need to have a clear vision of where “there” is. This shapes all your decisions.

Long term vision helps to allay anxieties and helps one enjoy the journey or process. It helps one take peoples’ opinions on board without deflecting from the goal.

Long term vision helps for the days when something is broken and you have to replace it, when cash flow is low, when you just want to put your head in a bucket and sob, handling the pressure of managing your own resource and knowing that the fate of your venture relies on you.

  1. Learn to develop extreme focus – and act!

I have several interesting ideas before breakfast, so it’s easy for me to get side tracked! and focus doesn’t come naturally to me but has to be learned, refined and practiced. But once you develop a clear vision for your life, it is easier to change your behaviours to fit the vision, and identify and concentrate on what really matters as you work to fulfill the vision and filter out the distractions and things that don’t work.

And if you want to succeed you must act. Action is paramount and takes precedence over all other things.  Don’t wait for someone else to do it for you.

  1. Be Unselfish

Now that we’ve talked about being selfish in 1 & 2 – one has to be unselfish! I can integrate my goals with that of others when possible, in fact I can actively seek to do so. You can see other people’s directions and see how they fit into yours – that way you can give them support while still focusing on your own vision. Look for win-win scenarios.

Don’t be afraid to ask for help – we are all interconnected in some way – and someday I can extend the same help.

  1. Small is Beautiful

I like being small (in business that is – physically that’s yet to come and then we are in business, so to speak) and flexible – that means one can respond quickly to situations.

It allows you to be sensible with yourself – and take chances to recharge and step away from work, otherwise you will simply start to drain the batteries and damage your work in the long run. The main asset of the business after all, is yourself!

  1. Treat People Well

Treat every client and supplier as special – and they are special – they come with their own stories, hopes, dreams, challenges and people like to be heard. Give them that opportunity – don’t just sell them your services.

6.  Referrals and Recommendations Rock!

If you know someone starting out or who is doing a good job – send people their way! I have benefited from referrals from local businesses and partnerships and collaboration is really where it is at. Also people in the early stages of their own business often go over and above what is required because they need it as much as you do.

In summary – running your own business is hard work, frustrating, stressful but extremely rewarding. I have a new respect for people that have been in business in Kells for years, especially the traders.

Launching my own business was the right thing for me at this point in time and it has taught me a lot about myself. I actually quite like the person I am and am becoming.

One thought on “6 Months in Business: Six Things I Have Learned!

Leave a Reply

